Volume 75: “Break Babies” are Bullisht!

Posted on 01/21/2014

0



0102-dwayne-gabrielle-instagram-3In the wake of the Gabrielle Union, Dwayne Wade baby mama drama, a new term has been created: Break Baby. And, it didn’t stop with D. Wade and Gabby. Apparently, rapper/actor Chris “Ludacris” Bridges fathered a child with another woman while on a “break” from his long time girlfriend/fiancé. Ok, can someone please tell me WTF is a “break baby?” Is there something I missed in the past year that this term/behavior is now accepted by society? I’m imagining your face twisting up right now – or even your eyes rolling or your teeth sucking to the suggestion that a “break baby” is the latest trend in American relationships. I’m here to tell you, it isn’t. So today, I’m going to illustrate my point, while providing you with the ammunition to disarm, debunk, and dispel the deluded diatribe of deviant dummies that would try to use this media-created moniker.  Here are my Five Reasons Why “Break Babies” are Bullisht!

1) It’s Irresponsibility personified. Ok, I get the fact that you say you’re on a “break”. Let’s even say I believe that (which I don’t). If you are still considering getting back with your girlfriend/fiancé, unprotected sex is NOT the way to go. In the case of celebrities, it’s even more irresponsible because you are in the public eye. You are the reason that Bossip, TMZ, Nicole Bitchie, et al have sites and traffic. They live off catching you doing something stupid like, let’s see…..oh yeah, having unprotected sex with a groupie. Next!

2) It can damage the self-esteem of the child. Everyone likes to feel that they were made out of love, and not made out of love-making. There IS a difference. And, I don’t care that you have the money to pay for designer clothes, nannies, and private school. The fact of the matter is that it does something to a person’s psyche when/if they learn that they were not planned. NFL player NaVorro Bowman recently learned that the man who raised him and went to all his football games, was not his biological father and that his biological father died. The first thing he did was get upset stating “I don’t have nobody!” The prosecution rests… Next!

3) I might catch hell for this one but, there are the women you sleep with and the women you have children with; and, many times they are not the same person. Now, as a husband and a father, I understand how children are made. At the same time, I know that everyone I had relations with was not someone with whom I wanted to have a child. In the words of Future, I’m just being honest.” And, if you go back through your sexual histories, I’m sure there are a few people you know that having a child with them would have been tragic. If they were someone you’d have a child with, you might have made them your significant other and not your “break relationship”. #tellthetruth Next!

4) Three letters S. T. D. I’ve learned from my interactions with women that they are rarely just someone’s side chick. They are going out with other people “because they can“, or because “he doesn’t own me“. This attitude can lead to promiscuity and reckless sexual behaviors – like having unprotected sex with multiple partners. Again, if you are truly on a “break”, then make sure you wear a condom. You don’t want to take home anything that you didn’t go there with.

5) You are disrespecting your significant other. If/when you get back with your girlfriend/fiancé, you don’t want to have a living, breathing, financial representation of your philandering while y’all were on your “break”. Gabby will have to find a way to tolerate D. Wade’s love child when he’s in their home. She will have to endure the paparazzi and gossip columnists pestering her with questions. And, if the rumors about her pregnancy are true, her child will have questions about their “brother” that will be difficult to answer.

Conclusion

On average, sexual intercourse last approx. 30 min, but it’s repercussions can last a lifetime. I’ve had my share of relationships in my life and in a couple of them, I’ve either taken, or wanted to take a break. Breaks can be good for relationships. After all, “absence makes the heart grow fonder”, right? However, just because you are on a “break” (real, imagined, or media contrived) doesn’t make it okay to be irresponsible, reckless, cavalier and disrespectful. People that behave in this manner (celebrity or not) are immature and foolish. There’s a cliché that states “a fool and his money are soon parted.” Keep on having “break babies” people, and you will end up broke.

That’s just my three cents… 

Sillethoughts

“Peep my ver-na-cular cuz I don’t know how to act…”

What are your thoughts? Leave a comment in the space provided below.